Te Herenga Waka University Press

Te Herenga Waka University Press

Established in the early 1970s as Victoria University Press of Wellington, THW has grown from a staff of one to a staff of seven, under the leadership since 1985 of publisher Fergus Barrowman. About 800 books have been published and on average 32 new books are published every year. THW has a special mission to discover new writers.

THW’s fiction list features many of Aotearoa’s foremost writers including Eleanor Catton, Elizabeth Knox, Catherine Chidgey, Pip Adam, Airini Beautrais, Annaleese Jochems, Sue Orr, Damien Wilkins, Barbara Anderson and Vincent O’Sullivan.

THW has Aotearoa’s strongest and most vibrant poetry list, featuring new poets such as Tayi Tibble, Freya Daly Sadgrove, essa may ranapiri and Oscar Upperton, alongside the widely acclaimed poets Tusiata Avia, Hinemoana Baker, Jenny Bornholdt, Vincent O’Sullivan, Dinal Hawken and the inaugural NZ Poet Laureate Bill Manhire.

THW publishes vital work in a wide range of subjects, including history, law and public policy, biography and memoir, literary studies, politics, art and architecture, Pacific studies, te reo Māori and personal essay. Our non-fiction is viewed in broad, culturally diverse and interdisciplinary terms, embracing studies of Aotearoa’s past and present and how these may shape the future. Some of the critically acclaimed authors we have published are Rose Lu, Shayne Carter, Rachel Barrowman, Carwyn Jones, Vincent Ieni Olsen-Reeder, Geoff Park, Ashleigh Young, Maurice Gee and Chessie Henry.


Email Publisher

Rights agents

Craig Gamble

Contact Te Herenga Waka University Press