Moana Oceania: Cook Islands – Kūki ‘Airani

Book Author Jean Tekura Mason
Rights Available World excl. ANZ

Aimed at readers 8+ but valuable for anyone with an interest in our Pacific kopu tangata (family), this is one of two inaugural books in the Moana Oceania series created by Oratia Books’ Editorial Director, Carolyn Lagahetau.

Cook Islands children in New Zealand will see themselves reflected in this book, and all readers can learn about life and nature in this part of the Pacific.

Cook Islands – Kūki ‘Airini sets out the seven interconnected pillars that guide Cook Islands life, such as kauraro (respect and obedience to elders) and ‘aka’aka (humily and dignity). There are also sections on education, language, history, environment, art, sport and celebrations — and an exploration of how Cook Islanders in Aotearoa maintain and adapt their culture.

Written in Cook Islands Māori and English by noted author Jean TeKura Mason,the book is illustrated with colour photographs throughout, and numerous pull-out boxes of information make the text easy to access.

About the Author
Jean Tekura Mason (Ngāti Nurau, Ngāti Teakatauira) has been the curator and manager at the Cook Islands Library & Museum Society since 2005, and was formerly an officer of the Cook Islands Parliament. She is particularly interested in the arts, folklore and Māori etymology of the Cook Islands. Also a noted poet, Jean lives in Rarotonga.


Oratia Books


300 x 170 mm portrait

Paperback, section sewn



Age Range: 8+

Publication Date
5 February 2023

Rights Available:
World excl. ANZ

Rights Agents:


Peter Dowling, Oratia Books

Contact Oratia Media about this book

The book title link will automatically be added to your message.